After spending several months out for repair with David Odess, my Hasselblad 500C/M kit is back! Isn’t it beautiful!

[caption id=“attachment_302” align=“alignnone” width=“1000”] Hasselblad 500C/M, Zeiss Planar 80mm, and A12 back[/caption]

I had begun to notice that my exposures were all over the place. At first I thought it was just inconsistent metering on my part but it turns out the shutter mechanism in the lens was badly broken. Considering the camera was made in the 1980s, I thought it was time for a CLA of the whole kit. I sent the lens, body, and back to David and waited patiently for their return.

Here’s what was fixed:

500C/M Body

  • upper plate foam
  • front plate foam
  • release button spring
  • base plate
  • screw for base plate

80mm CF

  • main spring
  • cocking ring spring
  • gear train

A-12 Back

  • light trap
  • light trap foil
  • nylon stop
  • drive gear

Also “Body, lens and magazine were cleaned, lubricated and adjusted in accordance with factory specifications”

Everything about the camera now feels and works wonderfully. I’m happy to have it back and intend to use it for many years to come.

Here’s one frame from the latest roll. I’ve always loved how the Zeiss lens renders.

[caption id=“attachment_303” align=“alignnone” width=“794”] Josie (2017). Hasselblad 500C/M. 80mm Zeiss Planar. Tri-X[/caption]