I'm going to need an Everything Bucket for my Everything Buckets.

The latest “Everything Bucket” is Keep It from Reinvented Software. Keep It is replacing Together, itself a fine tool for collecting things.

I’d settled on DEVONthink in recent years but lately have been looking for a simpler alternative. DEVONthink and DEVONthink To Go are a powerful combination. Maybe too powerful. I have many hours into configuring sync between my Macs and iOS devices, and sometimes I feel like I still don’t understand DEVONthink’s sync system at all. Having too many options is not always desirable.

I’ve been running with EagleFiler for the past couple of weeks and it really is great at keeping track of a bunch of “stuff”. It’s especially good with email. I haven’t minded that there’s no EagleFiler for iOS because everything is just kept in folders in Dropbox. Still, having a similar UI on both platforms would be nice.

Keep It looks nice. Like EagleFiler, it keeps my files and folder structure intact, although the library’s folder is in iCloud’s ~/Library/Group Containers/… location. Still, any app with a “Show in Finder” option is good with me.

I’m planning to throw a subset of my “File Cabinet” at Keep It and see how it feels.

Update I don’t think Keep It is for me. While I like how it looks and it feels good, there are a few things I’m not sure I could live with…

  • No quick capture keyboard shortcut
  • No way to see un-filed items
  • No Markdown preview

I’ll keep an eye on it, but for now I’m sticking with my current tools.