Shooting film when I'm in the mood

Shooting film when I'm in the mood

Over the past several years, my interest in shooting film has regularly ebbed and flowed. This fluctuation wouldn't be a problem if the frequency and amplitude weren't so high. My brain does this thing where it decides, usually after a successful roll or inspiring blog post, that I'm now going to "shoot only film from now on!" This is immediately followed by the purchase of supporting cameras or other gear.

A short time later, I tire of waiting to finish a roll, even though when I'm in film mode I claim that "waiting is a feature". The digital cameras come out and I start wondering why I bother with the hassle of film, when digital is "better", faster, and cheaper. I should sell off most of the film gear, shutter the darkroom, and just learn how to make decent inkjet prints instead.

And then, I finally finish that roll, process it, scan it, and make a couple of darkroom prints. Wow! This is so cool and fun and I love the images and I love having the negatives neatly organized in binders on my shelves for future generations of scholars and historians. (ha!).

So, what I'm saying is that I enjoy both film and digital. I should learn that about myself. I should build processes around both, as needed, and stop trying to decide which I want to do exclusively and realize that it all depends upon my mood.

Jack Baty @jack