Should I continue shooting 35mm film? I ask myself this question regularly, but never make a decision. Last week I thought I had decided I was going to shoot only medium and large format film, leaving the every day stuff to digital. And I certainly wasn’t going to shoot 35mm color film, since why would I do that if I can’t use it to make darkroom prints?

Then yesterday I went to a pool party and brought the Canon EOS-1v loaded with Portra 400. The 1v is a rugged, fast, weatherproof, professional-level camera. I forget how nice it is to use. I shot a roll of random snapshots, self-processed the roll in the JOBO, and scanned it using the Pakon. It’s really all quite easy when it works.

Thing is, I like the results. I don’t shoot color film often, but now I’m wondering if I should.

I get lazy, so shooting digital entices me. Then I spend some time with film and am immediately reminded that I prefer it.

I just ordered a dozen rolls of Portra 400 in 35mm so I guess that answers the question for now.

 

[gallery columns=“1” size=“full” ids=“1493,1491,1492,1494”]